Connect with us

Women's Basketball

Big Ten Women’s Basketball Postseason Honors announced



It’s hard to believe, but the Big Ten women’s basketball season is in postseason mode already, and with that the conference officially announced its postseason women’s basketball honors.

While most of the teams the media and coaches thought would do big things in the Big Ten this season did just that, the group nearly got the Player of the Year right as well. In the preseason it was thought that Minnesota Gophers guard Rachel Banham would be the Player of the Year.

The team was right, but Banham didn’t win the postseason award. Instead, that went to sophomore center Amanda Zahui B.. It was easy to understand, as she finished the regular season fourth in scoring at 18.5 points per game, led the Big Ten with averaging 12.7 rebounds per game and 4.0 blocked shots as well.

Zahui B. set a Big Ten record this season with 29 rebounds in a single game and joined the 1,000-point club. She earns the fourth Big Ten Player of the Year honor for Minnesota, and is the first to earn the accolade since Lindsay Whalen won the award in the 2002 season.

However, she wasn’t a unanimous choice for the honor, as Big Ten coaches picked Ohio State freshman guard Kelsey Mitchell. It’s easy to see why it was a split decisions, as Mitchell led the Big Ten and was second in the country in scoring — averaging 24.5 points per game for the Buckeyes.

The freshman guard has recorded a conference-leading six 30-point games and 21 20-point performances. She became just the second freshman to win conference Player of the Year honors as well, joining fellow Buckeye Jantel Lavender, who won the award in 2008.

Here is a look at the full postseason award list and All-Big Ten teams:

Big Ten Coaches selections

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 5.48.34 PM

Big Ten Media Selections

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 5.51.26 PM

Andy Coppens is the Founder and Publisher of Talking10. He's a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and has been covering college sports in some capacity since 2008. You can follow him on Twitter @AndyOnFootball

Continue Reading

Most Popular

Copyright © 2018 This site is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the Big Ten Conference. It is intended for informational and entertainment purposes only and is no way associated with the NCAA, the Big Ten or any member institutions.