Connect with us


talking10’s 2015 Big Ten football individual awards



Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Ezekiel Elliott, Ohio State RB

In a year full of surprises, Zeke Elliott winning this one is not amongst them. However, there could’ve been a case for as many as three or four players this season thanks to the competitiveness of the Big Ten.

The dynamic duo in Bloomington of quarterback Nate Sudfeld and running back Jordan Howard each got votes amongst our staff. In the end though, Elliott’s day against Michigan this past weekend sealed the deal for him.

It was emblematic of his entire season too. Everyone in the stadium knew he was going to be the focal point and no one could stop him. He rushed for a season-high 214 yards and had two touchdowns on 30 carries against the hated rivals up north. It was his fourth game over the 150-yard mark of the season and got him the conference rushing title as well.

Elliott finished the regular season with 1,672 yards and 19 touchdowns, numbers that put him sixth and second respectively on the national scale.

It’s pretty hard to argue those numbers and the importance of him to the team. When Urban Meyer is blatantly stumping for you to head to New York City to be part of the Heisman Trophy finalists, no way you don’t win the Offensive Player of the Year award.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Andy Coppens is the Founder and Publisher of Talking10. He's a member of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and has been covering college sports in some capacity since 2008. You can follow him on Twitter @AndyOnFootball

Continue Reading

Most Popular

Copyright © 2018 This site is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the Big Ten Conference. It is intended for informational and entertainment purposes only and is no way associated with the NCAA, the Big Ten or any member institutions.